Child Passenger Safety - Greater Cincinnati Automobile Dealers Association

Child Passenger Safety

The Safe Travel For Kids!!™ program originated in 2013, inspired by GCADA’s relationship with Cincinnati Children’s Comprehensive Children’s Injury Center (CCIC). This program helps provide education on the proper use of child safety seats in order to prevent injuries to children in the event of a collision. The program also donates car seats to families and caregivers with financial or special medical needs.

Each year, GCADA celebrates National Child Passenger Safety Month in September with a public awareness campaign and public outreach appearances, and holds a car seat giveaway to help raise awareness of common safety issues associated with the correct use of child restraint systems.

Click the button below by Sept. 30, 2019 to enter to our car seat giveaway courtesy of Cincinnati Children’s and Evenflo!

See below for information on child restraint laws, area car seat fitting stations, and other resources to ensure each child is safe on every ride!

Child Restraint Seats Car Seat Fitting Stations NHTSA Safety Seat Recall
CCHMC Car Seat Safety Brochure Regional Child Safety Restraint Laws

The fine for violation of the Ohio Child Restraint and Booster Seat Laws is $25 – $75 for the first offense. The second offense is punishable by up to 30 days in jail. See below for relevant child passenger safety laws from Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana.

SAFE KIDS Worldwide Ultimate Child Passenger Safety Guide

Our friends at Safe Kids Worldwide have created the Ultimate Car Seat Guide to help answer your questions about all things car and booster seats. 


Ohio Child Restraint Law

Requires children up to 4 years old AND 40 pounds to be restrained in a child restraint seat that meets federal standards and is correctly used according to the manufacturer’s instructions

Ohio Booster Seat Law

Requires children over 40 pounds or ages 4 years up to 8 years old unless 4’9” to be restrained in a booster seat.

Did You Know…

  1. A child must ride rear-facing until at least 1 year and 20 lbs. However, research indicates and the AAP recommends that children should ride rear-facing up to age 2 or to the upper weight and height limit of their car seat.
  2. A child should ride in a child restraint with an internal harness as long as possible. Many seats can be used up to 50, 65, or 80 pounds with an internal harness. Some of these seats can then be used as a booster seat. These seats could be an excellent choice for a younger child that is either heavier or taller.
  3. High back boosters are a good choice for transitioning a child from a child restraint to a booster seat especially if the child falls asleep in the car. The high back boosters might also offer protection if the vehicle has a side airbag as the high back booster with “side wings” helps to keep the child correctly positioned in the vehicle away from the window. Some of the high back boosters can become a no back booster.
  4. No back booster seats might be a good choice for an older child that does not want anyone to know that they are in a booster seat. It would also work well for a child that is in a carpool since it is light weight and easy to transport. Parents/caregivers need to make sure that either a headrest or the vehicle seat back is adjusted so that the back of the child’s head is protected.
  5. Booster seats must be used with both lap and shoulder belts!
  6. Did you know that car seats expire? It is recommended to not use a car seat 6 years after the manufacturer date, unless otherwise noted by the manufacturer. Check with the manufacture before reusing the seat for another child.

Indiana Child Restraint Law

Requires all children less than eight years of age to be properly restrained in a federally approved child restraint system, which can include a belt positioning booster seat.

Kentucky Child Restraint Law

Requires children 40 inches or less to be restrained in a child restraint seat that meets federal standards and is correctly used according to the manufacturer’s instructions

Kentucky Booster Seat Law

Requires children between 40 and 50 inches tall and ages 6 or younger to be restrained in a booster seat.


For more information contact:
Emily Lee
Injury Prevention Specialist
Comprehensive Children’s Injury Center
Cincinnati Children’s